19
Dec
11

Black Birds

These two first pictures are of a Koel, a cuckoo native to Australia and South East Asia. I’ve have been trying to get a picture for ages and this one landed over the fence in my backyard, conveniently, and kept still for long enough for me to take a couple of snaps.

This one, being black, is a male.

Other birds are always chasing them off, which puzzles me. If the other birds know what the cuckoos do, why do they allow it when it happens? Is there some loophole in the laws of nature that says; when a cuckoo lays its egg, you must care for the hatchling?

This last pic is of course a Raven, specifically the native Australian kind with the long, drawling call.

It seems like a young bird, still learning the ways of the Raven. Just the impression that I get. I’ve long felt them to be mysterious and magickal, as though in some secret part of themselves, they are responsible for the workings of the planet.

This shot was taken in Centennial Park in Sydney.

6 Responses to “Black Birds”


  1. 30 December 2011 at 10:56 am

    Very cool shots you have here!!

  2. 1 January 2012 at 9:54 am

    Do Koel’s sound like a cuckoo then? We’re travelling through Australia and are currently in Melbourne and I keep hearing ‘cuckoo’. i love ravens! one in Arlie beach had learned a brilliant call sign which sounded like a lugubrious old cynic laughing. He always added a final two notes just when you thought it was finished.

    • 2 January 2012 at 9:44 am

      I haven’t heard their noises that I know of, but they don’t say ‘cu-ku’, no.
      The Channel-billed Cuckoo makes a noise like it’s being strangled which I find very funny.
      The Ravens are brilliant, I am certain that they have some kind of language, the range of sounds they make is enormous, especially if you’re close enough to hear the quiet sounds they use for ‘chit-chat’.
      Have a great time in your travels, too 😀

      • 5 January 2012 at 10:28 am

        Thank you! I simply cannot get enough of the wild life here is Australia, even though I’ve had a few scares with snakes and even a kangaroo! Even a bite from an ant was incredibly painful and had me hopping for half an hour. I have put it all on my blog but I love seeing yours. Good luck with those incredible shots!

    • 5 January 2012 at 5:25 pm

      Here is a link now to a video I recorded this morning (5/1/12) just so that people could hear the sound.

      http://smallfox-photoarts.blogspot.com/2012/01/sound-of-koels.html


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,524 other followers

Flickr Photos


